Swagger Like M.I.A (T.I. and M.I.A. Perform “Swagger Like Us” at the Diesel xXx Party in NYC)

It was an evening of acronyms at the Diesel xXx Party in Brooklyn this past weekend, as M.I.A., N.E.R.D., T.I. and a bunch of other people (we love you Chaka Khan) gathered for mash-ups, circus freaks, and potential fire code hazards all in the name of overpriced denim. The universal party took place in 17 different cities across the world and was broadcast live on the Diesel website. Enough about all that.

While T.I., Hov, et al cleverly borrowed M.I.A.’s line from “Paper Planes” for the obligatory posse cut “Swagger Like Us” (and every dreadful remake) let’s not forget the godmother of the catch phrase. T.I. hops on the stage at BK’s Pier 3 and out walks Miss Maya herself, very pregnant with her protege Rye Rye at her side. Music drops and you completely forget M.I.A. is eating for two as she bounces around and does variations of the butterfly while chanting her sampled line. Props to T.I. for recognizing real. Now if they could only get her on the remix…

Leave a Reply

